Are you listening???

Listening…..are you listening? You would think that this question is being asked to a student. But in reality how many people feel that they are not heard when they are talking to adults. Listening is a skill and an important one at that. You cannot be truly listening to someone if you are thinking of your own response while they are still talking. At that point your mind has wandered and you are no longer an active listener. Throughout the last couple of years I have made an active effort to ensure that I truly listen to others and it has made such a difference. Not only have I benefited from hearing what someone else has to offer insight to, the people who I am conversing with are aware that they have my undivided attention. This in turn strengthens relationships because people feel validated during a conversation, and we all know that you cannot go wrong with this. I challenge each and everyone of you to take the time to be an active listener, you will reap the benefits.

About Stacey Garrioch

I am a wife, mom to 2 boys and kindergarten teacher. I love the outdoors, exercise and play! View all posts by Stacey Garrioch

2 responses to “Are you listening???

  • Chris Wejr

    Hey Stacey! Great to see another post from you. We both have been working on this and I think it has truly helped us to respect and understand where people are coming from. As Stan said to me one time, “we do not need to agree but we do need to seek to understand”. This can only be done by truly listening. Thanks for the great reminder!

    • Stacey Garrioch

      Thanks Chris, you and I chatted about the importance of listening a few years ago and that conversation always stuck in my head. We don’t always have to agree on things but we need to listen regardless, it is the only way to ensure that everyone is always valued. And in order to listen we must do so with undivided attention. Always enjoyed chatting during my prep, thanks for the read!

Leave a Reply

